When you edit a named access control list, the modified permissions are applied to either new
and existing objects to which the named access control list is already attached or to new objects
only, depending on your choice.
-
Open M-Files Admin.
-
In the left-side tree view, expand a connection to M-Files server.
-
Expand Document Vaults.
-
Expand a vault.
-
Select Named Access Control Lists.
Result:The list of named access control lists in the selected vault is opened in the right-side
pane.
-
In the Named Access Control Lists list, open the context menu for the item
that you want to edit and select Properties from the context menu.
Result:The Named Access Control List Properties dialog is
opened.
- Optional:
On the General tab, select Add... if you wish to add
a new user or user group to this named access control list.
-
Select the user or user group that you want to add to the named access control list.
Tip:
The best practice to specify access rights in named access control lists is through user
groups instead of individual users.
Making changes to named access control lists in large vaults can be very slow and may
therefore sometimes cause lock conflicts. Therefore, it is recommended that changes to
named access control lists and, in turn, to object permissions are made during off-peak
hours when user access to the vault is limited.
Tip: You can select more than one item at once. Hold down
the Ctrl key to select multiple individual items or hold
down the ⇧ Shift key to select adjacent items on the
list.
- Optional:
Select the User from metadata option if you want to add users based on
metadata properties to the named access control list. Use the drop-down menu to select the
desired property. For more information, see Pseudo-users.
-
Select Add to add the users or user groups to the named access control
list.
-
Select the user or user group whose permissions you wish to adjust from the
Users and user groups list.
-
Depending on your choice, select either the Allow or
Deny option for the desired operations.
-
Select OK once you are done to close the Named Access Control
List Properties dialog.
- Optional:
If the selected named access control is already used in the permissions of one
or more objects, the Confirm Update dialog is opened.
- Select Change Objects' Permissions if you wish to apply
your changes to the permissions of existing objects that use the selected named access
control list in their permissions.
Note: Object permissions are updated as an
asynchronous background task. Object permissions can be updated when, for example, a named
access control list, a user, a user group, or the value of a
pseudo-user (such as a project manager) is modified. You
can monitor the progress of the task in
M-Files Admin in the
Background Tasks section. For more information, see
Monitoring background tasks.
or
- Select Preserve Objects' Permissions if you do not wish
to apply your changes to the permissions of existing objects that use the selected named
access control list in their permissions.
The changes you have made are to the named access control list are saved and
applied, depending on your choice, to new and existing objects that employ the selected
named access control list or to new objects only.